The 22nd annual plenary conference of the Society for Musicology in Ireland (SMI) will take place on 28-29 June 2024, hosted by the Discipline of Music, School of English, Media and Creative Arts, at the University of Galway. The keynote paper will be given by Professor Barbara Kelly (University of Leeds).

Further updates about the conference will be posted here in due course.

Update, 18 May 2024: Registration is now open at the following link: The conference programme may be downloaded at

Update, 28 February 2024: The deadline for the submission of proposals is extended to Friday 15 March.

Update, 19 December 2023: The call for papers has been issued, as below, with Monday 26 February 2024 as the submission deadline. Each proposal should be sent, as a Word file, to the conference email address

Proposals from all areas of musicology and related music studies are invited for the following:

  • Individual papers;
  • Themed panel sessions (comprising three individual papers);
  • Round-table sessions (up to six people, each presenting a position paper, followed by a discussion);
  • Lecture recitals.

Individual papers and papers in themed panel sessions will be 20 minutes in length, followed by 10 minutes of discussion. Round-table sessions should not exceed 90 minutes, including time for discussion. Lecture recitals should be 30 minutes in length, including time for discussion.

Abstracts for all individual papers should not exceed 300 words. In the case of themed panel sessions and round-table sessions, there should be an abstract for the whole session (maximum 300 words) plus an abstract for each individual speaker (maximum 300 words each), and should be submitted as a single document.

Abstracts should include:

  • Title for the paper and/or session;
  • Name, contact details and affiliation of the speaker(s) (and, in the case of themed panel sessions and round-table sessions, the panel convener);
  • Brief biography of the speaker(s) (maximum 100 words per speaker);
  • Indication of equipment that is required.

The Programme Committee for the conference is:

  • Aidan Thomson (University of Galway, chair)
  • Nicole Grimes (University of California, Irvine)
  • Ann-Marie Hanlon (University of Galway)
  • James Denis Mc Glynn (Trinity College Dublin)
  • Méabh Ní Fhuartháin (University of Galway)